TeamChat Alpha Version – Explainer

As a Developer, I have the skills to build useful tools that enrich peoples lives. Over the past year, I have been focusing on a common problem that I have been encountering throughout my professional career. When working together in a group, I found it difficult to manage all the information on the projects we had. Files were spread across different places, and communication through email was really difficult because email stores all sorts of different conversations in one large bin. I really wanted a service that was developed solely for my team and grouped the different conversations that we had separately. I wanted something that tracked all the previous messages and files so I could view or access them whenever I needed to. I also wanted a tool that allowed me to communicate with my team during those times we were not able to meet in person – something like Skype or Hangout’s but designed for work and not for consumers.

That’s my vision for TeamChat. I have enough of what I want crafted and functional. It’s buggy here and there, but what I have is ready for Alpha Stage Testing. It would be great if other people are interested in using it too, so let me know if you do and I’ll give you access.

TeamChat In a Nutshell

Image

This is TeamChat on the Desktop. Your Contacts and Groups are displayed on the right.

Image

You can talk to your team members one-on-one. Or if you want to include your entire team on a conversation you can create a group.

Image

And embed files and links into the conversation.

Image

I hope that this feature alone will decrease the amount of emails that has to be sent to everyone on the team. It’s tough to keep track of the conversations in email and you can’t even send files more than 25mb. Massive Fail.

So that’s the core functionality of TeamChat – Instant Messaging and Group Messaging designed around Teams. However, we can’t always be tied to our Desktops, and I would love it if the app also supported Video Chat.

Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 1.01.24 AM

I got part of it working :). I’m aiming to get Video Chat working by December. Right now the goal is to get Mobile working soon because it would be amazing to be able to keep up to date with the team when you’re out and about.

TeamChat Mobile – Currently Under Construction

Image

With the mobile version, you can access your Contacts, Groups, and Files. There’s a file storage utility that you can store files and links in so you can access or share at a later date but I won’t be going over that in this post.

Clicking on Rooms brings you to a page that shows you all the groups that were created.

Screen Shot 2013-08-31 at 8.52.30 PM

So now you can participate in the conversations even when you’re not at your desk.

Screen Shot 2013-08-31 at 9.17.42 PM

Screen Shot 2013-08-31 at 9.07.27 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-31 at 9.08.36 PM

That’s it for now. I’m looking forward to having this app integrated in my daily life. And I hope other people will find it as handy as I do.

Leave a comment