How I Use TeamChat – Archiving and Accessing Data for Work and Home Use

I use TeamChat daily to archive and access data across all my devices. My clients send me a number of different files during the week and most of the time I need to refer back to these files. For example in a recent project, there were Website links, Photos, PSDs, and Documents that I received. These files were sent through Email, from Google Drive, and on Google Hangouts. The problem was trying to refer back to these documents at a later date either on my iPad or Computer (1). In order to deal with this problem, I used TeamChat to make life a little easier for myself. First I would upload all the files from this project onto a folder in my TeamChat File System called “Nissan Ad”. Anything important from Website Links, Font Files, Google Doc Links, .PSDs, etc. would be uploaded into this folder.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 2.02.46 PM

So whenever I needed to retrieve a file, I typically would do three things:

  1. Go into Gmail, search for the file. If search takes more than 15 seconds, look for it in TeamChat
  2. Go into Finder, search for the file. If I can’t find it, look for it in TeamChat
  3. Search for it in TeamChat. If I can’t find it, search for it in Gmail. If I can’t find it, search for it in Finder. Found? Must be important, upload file onto TeamChat

One really handy tool is the ability to quickly reference a file on the iPad or on my Mobile. In the project that I worked on, it would usually be in the form of a Website Link (like a previous Ad), or a .pdf.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 2.11.10 PM

Another handy way of using the File System on TeamChat was collecting Website Links for a job search. Every time I found an Ad I thought was appealing I would just plop it into TeamChat. I also added a “Job Site” Folder within the Job Applications Folder to help me quickly get up to speed if I wanted to search for some new Jobs.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 2.13.37 PM

Lastly, my Folder marked “TeamChat” includes a number of files and folders that help me Organize the TeamChat project. There’s the Customer Development Folder that deals with Customer Development related information. These include links and .pdf’s ranging from books to website links such as Steve Blanks Four Steps to Epiphany YouTube Talks, to Chris Anderson’s Long Tail Talks. Other folders include a link to a list of Designers whose work I like for example.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 2.22.04 PM

The feature that I enjoy the most and I am most proud of is the ability to quickly access a Video (mostly on YouTube) that I previously saved. In this case, I saved an iPhone Tutorial Video in my folder called “TeamChat”. Now I can quickly reference it when I need it.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 2.26.59 PM

1. I was building an Ad for the Tablet, so many times I would have to refer to a previous Ad we built for ideas or answers.

Leave a Reply

